games in a series
  • hey
    i was playing through my Ps2 games the other day, i played a few of the classics as well as my first game for the Ps2 Tony Hawks 4. personaly my favourite gaem in the THPS series. i also had Tony Hawks Proving ground, which is a pile of shit, half the time you have to attle the controls to make your own skate park in the middle of the city. It just got to complex.
    also i started playing my old Pokemons again. yellow, blue and red were as grindy as all fuck, but i never rember them being like that, seriously it's a bout 10 levels in between each new atack, you need mor xp and you get less, it just one massive grind. Leaf green and fire red as well as gold, silver ect. were perfectly fine, then agin dimond and pearl were to complex and weren't as good as previous ones.
    So i started to notice with games like thesse once they found their ballance they were great, but then they go and ruin it, yet series like Final Fantasy, Ratchet and clank and mario are still good even if they are a bit samey.

Pretty much i'm asking this. what other games can you think of were they found their balance and fucked it over in the sequal, or have retained there balance in a series?
  • Excellent topic.

I think Metal Gear Solid 1 hit that nearly perfect balance from the ground running. But, it seems he just couldn't leave well enough alone.

So Kojima kept trying to fix what wasn't broken and every subsequent game got a little worse and little worse.

-Ray