New Year's Resolutions
  • What is(are) your New Year's Resolution(s)? Doesn't have to be gaming related, of course. But I'm curious as to what my buddies here are planning to do in 2014?

Here are mine: 

1. Play my games. I spend far too much time on websites, forums, and whatever else and my backlog is continuing to grow. I want for myself to play the games I buy.

2. Get a job. This will be my last semester and I'm a part time student at that. I want to be able to leave college with job security. Make it happen, me! 

3. Keep going to the gym. I'm 99.999999% sure I will never stop, but I should throw it in there anyway.
  • @Slixshot The best thing you can do with your first job is to do a budget if you don't already have one to avoid lifestyle inflation. It's nice to have nice things and live well off but you can do it for a fraction of the price. Congrats on nearly finishing college and venturing out into the world! I'll give you a tour if you hop into this van here.

I think resolutions are really interesting. Only 8% of people stick to them! The issue is that people don't break down large goals like 'lose weight' into achievable steps with a plan or timeline for it all to incrementally kick in.

I haven't set any since 2010 and so I'll share with you guys what they were (even though its a little bit embarrassing and I don't think I achieved any of them):

• Work less - I have worked more in 2013 than ever before. My early mornings are permeated with waking up with a tinge of stress and nervousness. Hopefully within the next quarter, all my work will have paid off and in 2014, I'll really get to sit back and enjoy myself a bit more. I haven't been on holiday in three years!