Darkening: Thievery (Short Story)
  • *Hey guys! This story is actually part of a series I've been writing for a few months. There are almost eight completed stories, but I am working to edit them as best as I can before I release them. They all feature the same character, but are not told in any particular order, although they make reference to each other.*

“One...two...two and a half...”

It's funny how people lose the ability to think when there's a gun in their face. I think it's funny, anyway. The guy in front of me is sniveling and drooling, it's pretty pathetic. I tap the gun lightly against his forehead. “You do know what comes come after two and a half, right?”

“I'm sorry,” he stammers, “I don't know where he is!” He slumps over, letting his wet, sloppy face make friends with the floor. He sobs with some real passion. It's quite touching.

“Listen, I don't want to kill you, Adam,” I say this with as much sincerity as I can muster. “Just tell me where Raynoldi is.” He's his right hand man, you'd think he'd have some idea about his whereabouts. He stares at me with big puppy dog eyes, tearful and sad. I sigh and aim the gun. “Three.”

He falls over with about as much grace as a drunken priest. I would know. I put my back to the wall and slide down, blowing air out through my lips the way a horse does. Neigh. See, tonight is a first. The guy I'm working for, Carter Raynoldi, has actually grown the balls to steal from me. It's usually the other way around, I assure you. I couldn't even comprehend it at first.

And let's be honest here, I couldn't care less about the money. I never do. It's the principle of the matter! Nobody betrays me. That's my job. It's making me a bit paranoid. Are they somehow piecing it all together? How I move from city to city, state to state, country to fucking country. They couldn't possibly have it pieced together yet. Not yet.