Photography
  • So who all is into photography these days? I've had a small point and shoot Samsung NV7 the past couple years (see images below). It's been a great camera with a few small manual features. Today I finally got into the DSLR field and ordered a Nikon D3000 with 18-55mm kit lens and an extra 55-200mm lens, which should be here next week. It's not the greatest but a great entry DLSR. Was just curious if anyone else here has an interest in photoprahy. Feel free to post some of your photos as well.

• I'm into it big time, got galleries both on Flickr (Tomi Tapio) and deviantArt/TomiTapio.

Noob's worries by Tomi Tapio, on Flickr

Väinö of Vallila by Tomi Tapio, on Flickr
  • I'm a junior photographer myself. I have a Canon Rebel T2i with the 18-55mm kit and a 50mm f/1.8 lens. I'm pretty critical of my stuff, so I dont post very often. I've had some fun with bulb exposures:

I have a bag and a cheap tripod. The next few things on my list that I want are:
    ~Improved strap (the one that came with it is terrible, I want a sling)
    ~Ball-head Monopod (Took some snowy outdoor shots this year, all turned out terrible because there is no IS/VR on my 50mm lens)
    ~Telephoto lens (Thinking 70-300mm, but it's $500)
    ~Wide Angle lens (Have a Bower 14-18mm lens in mind, no AF, but cheap and nice)

Not sure how into photography you fellas are, but http://www.bhphotovideo.com/ is probably the best site I know of with the best selection and deals. I love them.
  • Well, it seems we've had quite a few conversations about photography recently - I'm also just taking my first steps into dSLR ownership, and I know Kaidfather's thinking about taking the dive.

I don't have any of the pics I've taken so far with me on this laptop, but when I get to my home computer tonight, I'll post some up!
  • Yes taking the dive myself as well

It's a Christmas present for the wife, but I have a feeling that I will be the one learning how to use the dSLR properly.